Past President

Professor Colm O’Morain graduated from University College Dublin and received his post-graduate training in Dublin, Nice, London and New York.

He has been appointed in 2019 as National Clinical lead in Gastroenterology and Hepatology by the Health Service Executive and Royal College of Physicians of Ireland.

He was President of United European Gastroenterology from 2011 to 2013 and chairman of the Public Affairs Committee from 2009 – 2011.

He is the current President of the Bockus International Society of Gastroenterology.

He was the foundation Professor of Medicine at Tallaght Hospital, Trinity College Dublin 2002 - 2012. He was elected Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences at Trinity College f 2007 – 2012.

He has held many positions of authority in National, European and World Organisations most notably President of the Irish Society of Gastroenterology between 2000 – 2004, President of the European National Societies of Gastroenterology 1997 – 2000.

He was the President of the European Helicobacter Study Group 2010 – 2012 of which he is a founder member.

He was the Irish representative on the European Crohn’s and Colitis Organisation from 2010 – 2014.

He is a patron of the European Federation of Crohn’s Colitis Association 2000 to present.

He is a founder member of the European Board of Gastroenterology in 1998.

He is a co-author of the European Guidelines for Colorectal Cancer Screening and an advisor to the National Cancer Screening Service in Ireland.

He was awarded a D.Sc from the University of London for his published work and a D.Sc from the University of Athens for his contribution to Gastroenterology.

He is a fellow of The Royal College of Physicians in Ireland, the London College of Physicians and of Trinity College Dublin.

He is an elected member of the Royal Irish Academy of Ireland.

He has been awarded the Max Suirala Medal by the Finnish Society of Gastroenterology and was made an honorary member of the Belgian and Hungarian Society of Gastroenterology and an Orator of the Malaysian Society of Gastroenterology. He received the Felix Burda prize for his efforts to promote colorectal cancer in Europe.  He was awarded Life Time Achievement awards from the Irish Society of Gastroenterology in 2012 and the United European Gastroenterology in 2018.

He has published over 300 peer reviewed articles and co-authored eight books and his H factor is 76.

His research interests are in Helicobacter pylori, Inflammatory Bowel Disease and Colorectal Cancer Screening.

We use cookies to improve your experience on our website. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies.